What is a colony in ancient greece?

Greek city-states were soon attracted by the fertile land, natural resources, and good harbors of what is now southern Italy and Sicily. These colonies had such a strong Greek identity they were called "Greater Greece" or Megalē Hellas. Cumae was the first colony in southern Italy.