When was dyslexia discovered?

In 1877, the reading and spelling difficulties characteristic of dyslexia today were first identified by Adolph Kussmaul, a German Professor of Medicine. Termed 'word blindness', such difficulties were believed (incorrectly) to stem from some form of ocular deficit.