How many people served in world war one?

Of the 60 million soldiers who fought in the First World War, over 9 million were killed. The armies of the Central Powers mobilised 25 million soldiers and 3.5 million of them died. The Entente Powers deployed 40 million soldiers and lost more than 5 million.