What type of scientist studies fossils?

A paleontologist is a scientist who studies the history of life on Earth through the fossil record.

---

Paleontologists are the primary scientists who study fossils. However, paleobotanists, paleozoologists, anthropologists, geologists, and evolutionary biologists also study fossils for their respective fields.