What do they call an african fly?

The worst African fly is the "tsetse." What is called "African sleeping sickness" is a disease transmitted a parasite. If an infected tsetse bites you, it can pass on the disease. This can cause high fever, severe headaches, muscle aches, etc. Worst case scenario, it can kill.