What is the population of the former soviet union?

In 1990 in the Soviet Union lived 287.728 million people. In 2012 in the former republics lived 290.587 million people, which is 0.98% increase. I couldn’t find any numbers more recent than that, they probably don’t keep as good of a record as western nations.