What is a thimble rigger?

It is also known as a shell game. It is a sleight-of-hand swindling game in which the operator palms a pellet or pea while appearing to cover it with one of three thimble-like cups, and then, moving the cups about, offers to bet that no one can tell under which cup the pellet or pea lies.