Are woodchucks related to beavers?

While both the woodchuck and the beaver are part of the order Rodentia (rodents), they are completely different families (woodchuck is Sciuridae while the beaver is Castoridae). The woodchuck prefers berries, clover and alfalfa, the beaver actually eats trees like willow, cottonwood or aspen.