How is magnetism measured?

The intensity of a magnetic field is measured in Gauss units. The higher the Gauss number, the higher the density of the magnetic field. A common refrigerator magnet might have a Gauss number of 100, while an industrial Alnico magnet would have a Gauss number in excess of 10,000.