What's the origin of biscuits and gravy?

Biscuits and gravy as a meal emerged as a southern dish after the American Revolutionary War (1775–1783), when stocks of foodstuffs were in short supply. The milk-based gravy was used to stretch the meat, and biscuits themselves could be made with a variety of fats.