What's the difference between a brown out and a blackout?

A black out is a failure or total shutdown of the electrical system. A brown out is a reduction in voltage of an electrical system, whether intentional (to conserve fuel) or unintentional (due to demand exceeding production). In a brown out, lighting is reduced but not eliminated.