What is the scientific name of an orca?

The genus & species name of the orca is Orcinus orca. The Latin name Orcinus translates as "belonging to Orcus". Orcus was a Roman god of the netherworld, and this genus name is likely a reference to the hunting prowess of the animal. Orca means "large-bellied pot or jar," as in the orca's shape.