Who said the quote to be or not to be?

To be, or not to be: that is the question refers to words spoken by Prince Hamlet in the play Hamlet by William Shakespeare. Prince Hamlet was considering suicide as an escape from his troubles, hence the existential question of whether he should continue to exist or not.