Are flies attracted to vinegar?

A mixture of vinegar and dish soap can help you trap flies. To use this method, mix about an inch of apple cider vinegar and a few drops of dish soap in a tall glass. Flies will be attracted to the vinegar in the glass and will fly through the holes.