What are melatonin dreams?

Studies have found that melatonin can increase REM sleep, the sleep cycle known for causing vivid dreams. “If you are spending more time in the stage of sleep where vivid dreams are most likely to occur, this may naturally lead to increases in bad/vivid dreams,” says Dr. Drerup.