What is the definition of sand?

NOUN a loose granular substance, typically pale yellowish brown, resulting from the erosion of siliceous and other rocks and forming a major constituent of beaches, riverbeds, the seabed, and deserts. VERB smooth or polish with sandpaper or a mechanical sander