What is it mean when you say the moon is waxing?

A waxing moon is any phase of the moon during the lunar cycle between the new moon and the full moon. A waxing moon is one, that is getting larger each night. The lunar cycle is a period of about 29 days, as the moon's shape seems to change from our vantage point on Earth.