What was the great molasses flood in nineteen nineteen?

The Great Molasses Flood of 1919 occurred when a storage tank collapsed on January 15, 1919, sending more than two million gallons (eight million litres) of molasses flowing through the city's North End. The deluge caused extensive damage and killed 21 people.