What was the name of the german pope?

Joseph Aloisius Ratzinger was born in Marktl, Bavaria, German Reich, in 1927. By 2005, he became Pope Benedict XVI. In 2013, he scandalously retired, becoming the first pope to do so in over 600 years. Afterward, he was named Pope Emeritus and lived at the Vatican. He died in 2022.