What is an ancient grain from peru?

Here is the answer to the crossword puzzle clue "Ancient grain from Peru" - QUINOA. Quinoa, kañiwa, and kiwicha are nutritious native grains that have adapted to the distinct environmental conditions of the Andes mountains of South America.