What does the prefix inter mean in international?

"Inter" infers "between"; "intra" is "within". "Interstate commerce" refers to different states doing business with EACH OTHER. "Intrastate commerce" refers to business that goes on WITHIN a single state. So, "international" basically means countries outside of your home country.