What is a dreadnought battlecruiser?

Battlecruiser is a generic term for a fast capital ship similar to a dreadnought, but exchanging a reduced outfit of heavy guns and considerable thickness of armour protection in pursuit of greater speeds, generally in the order of 25 knots.