What is an auror in fantastic beasts?

An auror, in the literary and cinematic universe which encompasses both the Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts Franchises, is a highly skilled wizard or witch trained to hunt and capture evil and dangerous wizards or witches.

---

An auror is a wizard or witch, who’s career is to police the wizarding community from the practice of dark magic.