Is red velvet cake the same as chocolate cake?

Red velvet cake is a type of rich chocolate flavored sponge cake that is colored red, while a chocolate cake is simply a cake made with chocolate or cocoa. Red Velvet contains additional ingredients like buttermilk, vinegar, and cream cheese, which gives it a more complex flavor and texture.