What is the movie i'll be gone in the dark about?

I'll Be Gone in the Dark is an American true crime documentary series directed by Liz Garbus, Elizabeth Wolff, Myles Kane and Josh Koury, revolving around Michelle McNamara as she writes a book about and investigates the Golden State Killer.