What's the difference between a saber and a sword?

A sword is a single edged weapon used for slashing or thrusting thats longer than a knife or dagger, consisting of a long blade attached to a hilt. The saber and similar blades like the cutlass, were built more heavily and were typically used in warfare. Usually double edged with a pointed tip