What is coheed cheese?

Cotija is a Mexican cow's milk cheese named after the town of the same name in the state of Michoacán. It's white in color, firm and dry in texture, and salty and milky in flavor. When it's younger (as in, aged for a shorter amount of time), its texture is akin to that of feta: moist and crumbly.