Who invented the hair scrunchie?

The Scrunchie was invented by Philips E. Meyers in 1963, but was not patented until 1987 by Ronny Revson. She created the first prototype of the Scrunchie because she wanted a gentler version of the metal hair ties used in the 1980s.