Are pomegranates a berry?

Yes, pomegranates are berries botanically because they’re fleshy fruits that come from a single flower with one ovary and have several seeds. Their name is from Latin and means “many seeds.” Native to the Middle East, today’s pomegranates contain anywhere from 200 to 1.200 seeds.