What's a hooky lau?

A Hukilau is a method of fishing invented in Hawaii.

---

The Hukilau is a Hawaiian way of fishing where a lot of people cast a fishing net from the shore and pull it back. They line the net with leaves which scare the fish to the middle of the net, ensuring a large catch. Invented by ancient Hawaiians, the word "Huki" means "pull" and "Lau" means "leaves"