Why do trees take so long to grow?

Nutrition has a lot to do with how fast and large a tree ultimately grows. Bonsai trees are normal trees, like oak, that are given so little nutrition they grow small and very slowly. Some have been passed from one generation to the next. Other trees grown in the west grow to maturity in 40 years.