Where is the syrah?

Syrah grapes, also known as Shiraz, originated in southeastern France, but also grows in Chile, South Africa, New Zealand, California, and Washington. They are the source of Syrah wine. The name is derived from Shiraz, the capital of the Persian Empire; legend says they actually originated there.