Who invented the dance the worm?

The inventor of the worm is unknown. Some believe it was Kane Hendrie during the 1920s. It became hugely popular during the 1970’s and remained popular through the 80’s, making appearances on stages at punk rock shows. It was first shown in a video in the 1980s. Nowadays, it's used in breakdancing.