What is the definition of deflate?

verb 1. let air or gas out of (a tire, balloon, or similar object). "he deflated one of the tires" Similar: let down empty the air out of collapse flatten void puncture Opposite: inflate blow up 2. cause (someone) to suddenly lose confidence or feel less important. "his response deflated me"