Was big time rush an actual band?

Big Time Rush is an actual American pop music boy band formed in 2009. The group is composed of Kendall Schmidt, James Maslow, Logan Henderson, and Carlos PenaVega. They initially signed with Nick Records in 2009 before transferring to Columbia Records.