How was the sun named?

The word sun comes from the Old English word sunne, which itself comes from the older Proto-Germanic language's word sunnōn.Ancient Greeks called the Sun Helios, and this word is still used to describe the Sun today. During the reign of the Roman Empire, Helios was replaced with the Latin name Sol.