What side of the table do the forks go on?

Forks are placed on the left side of the dinner plate. If more than one fork is used in the place setting, then the first fork to be used (salad) will be placed on the outside, the second next in, and so on. In formal settings, a cocktail or desert fork may be placed horizontally above the plate.