What makes a carbohydrate?

A carbohydrate is a carnin chained organic molecule with carboxyl groups bonded to the carbon chain in equal 2:1 ratio of hydrogen and oxygen. Carbohydrates are generally referred to as a sugar, that is used by the body to produce and store energy