What is the bullmastiff?

The Bullmastiff is a dog of mastiff type and large size, with a solid build and a short muzzle. It was developed as a guard dog in the nineteenth century by breeding the English Mastiff to the now-extinct Old English Bulldog. It was recognized as a breed by The Kennel Club in 1924.