What's inside a couch?

A couch consists of the frame, the padding and the covering. The frame is usually made of wood, but can also be made of steel, plastic or laminated boards. Sofa padding is made from foam, down, feathers, fabric or a combination thereof.

---

Most couches manufactured today contain foam of various types that are attached to wooden and metal frames.