What is the biggest dam in the world?

At 1.4 miles wide (2.3 kilometers) and 630 feet (192 meters) high, Three Gorges Dam is the largest hydroelectric dam in the world, according to International Water Power & Dam Construction magazine. Three Gorges impounds the Yangtze River about 1,000 miles (1,610 km) west of Shanghai.