Is a. r. i. a word?

No, ARI is not in the Scrabble dictionary. But if it were, its worth 3 points. Ari is a given name in many languages and cultures, for both men and women. Also the name for a small crooked tree, "Bauhinia Racemosa", found in India, Burma, China, and Malaysia yielding strong fiber used for cordage.