What is a hackberry tree?

A hackberry is a medium sized tree indigenous to North Dakota but able to survive throughout most of the United States. Hackberry is an easy to identify member of the Elm family but in a different genus . It has a distinctive warty bark surface sometimes described as stucco-like.