What is the medusa lloyd mycelium?

A deadly mushroom in the Lemony Snicket books. The Medusoid Mycelium grows in the Gorgonian Grotto and in the final three books plays an important role in the story line. Spoiler alert - it was used by Gregor Anwhistle and was quarantined in the Gorgonian Grotto.