What is the enfield fly rule?

The infield fly rule is a rule of baseball that treats certain fly balls as though caught, before the ball is caught, even if the infielder fails to catch it or drops it on purpose. The umpire's declaration of an infield fly means that the batter is out regardless of whether the ball is caught.

---

In baseball, the infield fly rule states that when there is a runner on 1st with fewer than 2 outs, a batter who hits a pop fly to the infield is automatically out, even if the fly ball is not caught. This keeps fielders from intentionally dropping the fly ball so they can turn a double play.