What company owns safeway?

According to the safeway.com website. Safeway is an American supermarket chain founded by Marion Barton Skaggs in April 1915 in American Falls, Idaho. It is currently a subsidiary of Albertsons after being acquired by private equity investors led by Cerberus Capital Management in January 2015.