How much is forty thousand dollars a year per hour?

$40,000 per year equals: $19.23 per hour (based on a 40 hour work week * 52 weeks per year)

---

$40,000 a year equals roughly $19.23 an hour, provided you work 40 hours a week, all year, with no vacation or overtime. To compute that, divide $40,000 by 40 hours, then by 52 weeks.