How long does it take to grow a new fingernail?

Your fingernails grow slowly — in fact, they grow about one tenth of an inch each month. At that rate it can take about 3 to 6 months to completely replace a nail. Where your nail meets your skin is your cuticle. Cuticles help to protect the new nail as it grows out from the nail root.