Who is charlie the middle?

Charles Joseph McDermott Jr. is an American television and film actor, and musician, best known for his role as Axl Heck on ABC's The Middle. He was nominated for the Independent Spirit Award for Best Supporting Male for his performance in the acclaimed film Frozen River.