What was the dawes several tea act?

The Dawes Severalty Act was authorized by the Executive branch of the Federal Government in 1887 to survey Indian tribal land. It emphasized severalty and the delivery of individual rights to Native Americans. The premise was to divide the land into allotments for individual Native Americans.